Forrest County Board of Supervisors

Welcome to the County’s website.

Forrest County is located in south central Mississippi approximately 100 miles south of the State Capital, Jackson.  The County is a dynamic, growing center for business, population and learning.

Two universities are based in Forrest County:  University of Southern Mississippi and William Carey University.  There are also two colleges:  Antonelli College and Pearl River Community College.

The County is served by interstate 59 (New Orleans to Meridian) and Highway 49 (Gulfport to Jackson) as well as Highway 98 (Mobile to Columbia).  Hattiesburg, where the county offices are located, is therefore known as the Hub City.

There is also an excellent Medical facility:  Forrest General Hospital.

The population for Forrest County, Mississippi is 74,934. (Census 2010). Greater Hattiesburg MSA Regional Profile – click here

Switchboard:  (601) 545-6000

Click Link Below 
Run Off Ballot Sample (PDF)

Click Image to Enlarge


May 2018
Supervisor David Hogan performs the ribbon cutting at the Dixie Community Center
Little Library dedication.   The project originated when Shirley Carter reached out to
David Hogan about creating an honor system library at the Community Center.
The library will run as an honor system where kids will be able to take books and bring
them back, or donate books.

click photo to enlarge





Tuesday June 5th, 2018
Democratic and Republican Primary Elections
Sample Democratic Ballot (PDF)
Sample Republican Ballot (PDF)



November 20, 2017

The Board of Supervisors recognized Petal School District, its Superintendent, staff, students
and their families for achieving the a ranking of the No. 1 school district in the State of Mississippi.
Petal was one of only 15 districts in the state to achieve an A rating by the Mississippi Department
of Education.
David Hogan presented the award to Superintendent Matt Dillon.


Dist 5 VFD
(Click to enlarge)

October 19, 2017
The Board of Supervisors inspect a new Firetruck received by the Brooklyn Volunteer Fire Department.
The truck is a Peterbilt 1,000 gallon pumper with a 1,250 GPM (gallons per minute) pump.
This truck replaces their previous 17 year old truck that was totaled in a 2016 wreck.
With the help of an insurance settlement and a $50,000 contribution from the county’s general fund,
the fire department financed the remaining balance of $48,000.


 penny02 September 4, 2017

Penny Steed, Forrest County Comptroller gave a Fiscal Year ’18 Budget presentation
at the Forrest County Board Meeting.  The budget stands at $78.675 million, which consists of $55.498 million
in total revenue and a beginning cash balance of  $23.177 million.

President David Hogan stated the Board was proud there would be no tax increase this year.
There is approximately $22 million in new growth in the county, and those businesses and taxes
will be on the tax rolls, so we’ll benefit.

June 21, 2017

The Board of Supervisors presented Terri Smith with a Proclamation recognizing her for decades of
service with the Forrest County Tax Collector’s office and her upcoming retirement June 30, 2017.
Terri has served Forrest County since January 2, 1992.


Floodplain, Stormwater, Subdivisions


election-commisson-2017January 3, 2017
Forrest County Chancery Clerk, Jimmy C. Havard, swears in the newly elected
Forrest County, MS Election Commissioners.

Tyler Wood, District 1 Commissioner
Barbara Johnson, District 2 Commissioner
Lucretia Sug Jenkins, District 3 Commissioner
Nancy Faye Noble, District 4 Commissioner
Sue Polk, District 5 Commissioner



May 2, 2016
The Forrest County Board of Supervisors, adopted a Proclamation
Honoring CLINT MARTIN, Pine Belt Aviation Artist Nationally
Acclaimed for Artwork Depicting
World War II African-American Pilots Tuskegee Airmen.


January 4, 2016
The Forrest County Board of Supervisors, swearing in ceremony.


BOS Fire Trucks

March 16,2015
The Rawls Springs and McLaurin Volunteer Fire Department both received new Fire Trucks
prior to the Board of Supervisors meeting Monday.

The trucks were purchased in part by a rural fire truck acquisition assistance program along
with matching grants from the county, and with fire department  insurance rebate programs.
The acquisition of these new fire trucks help the VFD’s to keep lower fire insurance ratings.



jc award
  jc award01 February 18, 2014
The Board of Supervisors recognized the Forrest County Justice Court for
receiving the “County of the Year Excellence Award” presented February 5, 2014,
by the Justice Court
Clerks Association Annual JCCA Winter Conference,
for 30 years of public service, 1984 – 2014.



CarnesVFD1   Carnes VFD2
December 16, 2013
The Forrest County Board of Supervisors, accept the delivery of a new 2013 Ford F 550 Rescue / Brush Truck.
The 300 Gallon Water Tanker will be used by the Carnes Volunteer Fire Department.


    Mr King and Mr Marshall

June 3, 2013
Tom King, Southern District Transportation Commissioner presents Charles Marshall,
District 2 Supervisor, with a check for the Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP)
for the Rawls Springs Recreation Center Expansion.
The grant total is $300,000 and the county will be required to give a 20 percent match.
Grant money will be used to expand the existing park facility at Rawls Springs, which will
include a walking path, lighting, benches, bicycle racks and other amenities.
The completed project will form a larger park that will create a safe, functional and
attractive area for local residents and visitors along with forming a pedestrian
connection to Rawls Springs Road.





   Forrest County Board of Supervisors                                                                                                                                                                                                   Chris Bowen-District 5,    Rod Woullard-District 4   Burkett Ross District 3,
Charles Marshall-Vice President-District 2,   David Hogan- President-District 1