Sharon Thompson – District 2

Supervisor District 2
Office Phone: (601) 545-6010

Main Courthouse Reception (601) 545-6000

Sharon Thompson is the District 2 Supervisor for Forrest County, Mississippi.  This district
encompasses the communities of Glendale, Rawls Springs, Eatonville and portions of
Hattiesburg and Petal.  Ms.  Thompson was elected in 2019 and represents the Board
of Supervisors on both the Hattiesburg Downtown Association and the Hattiesburg Petal
Lamar County Metropolitan Planning Organization  (HPFL-MPO)

Her journey into service began with serving as receptionist at SEMCAA.  Later, she transitioned
to the position of Justice Court Clerk.  She served in this position for 21 years.  During the
aforementioned years, the Justice Court received perfect audits with no questionable findings.
Also, during her tenure, the Forrest County Justice Court was selected by the Mississippi Justice
Court Clerks Association as the “Best Justice Court in Mississippi.”  Sharon also was elected
President of the Mississippi Justice Court Clerks Association on two separate occasions (2001 and 2010).
She is an advocate for continuing education.  While in office, Ms. Thompson obtained over 800 hours
of training from the Mississippi Judicial College.  Along with the aforementioned training,
she also received credit/training in various accounting courses.  Ms. Thompson’s priorities are:
transparency, respectfulness, professionalism, providing recreational programs to the youth of District 2,
seeking grants to alleviate problems such as flooding and erosion and networking with other
supervisors to garner ideas to improve the quality of life for all Forrest County residents.

Sharon is a member of Mt. Olive Baptist Church and serves on the Board of Trustees.
Ms. Thompson is a lifelong resident of Forrest County and a graduate of Hattiesburg High School.
She is the proud mother of one son, Michael.  He is a veteran of both the U.S. Marine Corps
and U.S. Coast Guard.  Sharon also has six grandchildren.


Map of District 2(pdf format)

Formatted for ledger sized paper

Official website for Forrest County in Mississippi.